Mercury

by kvennarad

© Marie Marshall. Thank you Mari Sanchez Cayuso

© Marie Marshall. Thank you Mari Sanchez Cayuso

It occurred to me the other day, when an interesting discussion about what poetry is for, on my web site, was in danger of becoming circular, that I should try a little experiment here on my regular blog for short bursts of informal poetry. So I posted a little piece called ‘Daffodils’, and waited for someone to spot that it was eight strictly metrical lines. The clue was, of course, in the title, and indeed I started with William Wordsworth’s iambic tetrameter and simply added an extra unstressed syllable. I cheated a little by softening some stresses, and by splitting the eighth line into three. Can any of my regular friends and visitors put their hands on their hearts and say they noticed?

__________

Click the button

 

