1940-1944*

by kvennarad

© Marie Marshall

© Marie Marshall

*Text as Art: I am trying something completely different from my normal output here, for a short while. I’m usually not one for explaining my poetry or any artistic endeavour of mine. However, I think I have to say briefly what’s going on here. For quite some time my poetry here has been presented not simply as words, but as the image of words; the visual effect of words on a screen. Right now I am presenting a series of four images, all of which depend on text. They all refer to the État Français, the government of unoccupied France which, for four years during WW2, collaborated with the Third Reich. As such they are references to the past brought into the present to suggest analogies. A further reference to the past is the the suggestion of Roman monumental masonry, some of it broken, some of it intact. The image above carries the single word ‘Vichy’; it is the name of the city which served as the capital of the État Français, and the name by which its régime was known.

