On remembering a childhood visit to the British Museum to see the Elgin Marbles

by kvennarad

For a while my posts here may be a little sporadic. This is because I’m about to give some attention to composing poetry for a magazine, and while I’m doing that, something has to give. But please stick with me – keep in touch via Twitter if you like, @MairibheagM – and I’ll be back to posting regularly as soon as I can. In case I haven’t mentioned this before, I do appreciate your ‘likes’ and comments here very much.

Meanwhile, here’s something completely different. Someone asked me if I still compose sonnets. The answer to that is ‘not very often’. I do occasionally, to keep my eye in. Here’s a comparatively recent one. It was, in a way, a response to an impassioned sonnet written by a Canadian friend, demanding that the famous ‘Elgin Marbles’ be returned to Greece. I didn’t engage in the debate, because what immediately came into my mind was a memory of visiting the British Museum as a child, and of daring to do something that wasn’t allowed. Critics of neo-formalist poetry say it lends itself too easily to the urge to slip back into nostalgia. Guilty as charged.

The subject of the appropriation of heritage is an interesting one, and one about which I might compose an essay in due course for my main web site.

© Marie Marshall

© Marie Marshall

Uranus

