‘Captcha’ poetry: a first?

by kvennarad

I claimed a ‘first’ back in 2013, when, as part of my collection I am not a fish (pub. Oversteps Books), my poem More words from the Old-man-of-the-woods’ companion was published. I confidently claimed it was the first poem to have been composed entirely of ‘found words’ in ‘captcha’. In case you don’t know what that is, it is an online challenge-response test to tell whether a user is human. It is an acronym for ‘Completely Automated Public Turing test to tell Computers and Humans Apart’. The point of the poem, a brief four-liner, was that the ‘voice’ of the poem was attempting just that – to prove itself human. I actually wrote it in 2012. If you know of an earlier one, tell me. Here it is, below, but if you want it in context, please buy the book.

© Marie Marshall

© Marie Marshall

I seem to recall writing a poem that began with an html command too, but I’m damned if I can find it. Oh well…

Uranus

