Put your dollar down

by kvennarad

Crumb Hurt 2

I bet you, you bet me,
Apple don’t grow on a cottonwood tree.
Put your dollar down,
Put your dollar down,
Come on buddy, come and put your dollar down.

I had a girl, back in Alabam’,
Said she won’t marry no gamblin’ man.
Put your dollar down,
Put your dollar down,
Come on honey, come and put your dollar down.

See her dance, hear her sing,
I gone and sold her diamond ring
To put a dollar down,
To put a dollar down,
Come on honey, come and put your dollar down.

Sunday morning, bell’s been rung,
Preacher preachin’, hymns bein’ sung,
Put that dollar down,
Put that dollar down,
Come on buddy, come and put your dollar down.

Preacher told me gamblin’s a sin,
Told me once, won’t tell me agin,
To put that dollar down,
Put that dollar down,
Come on sinner, come and put that dollar down.

Life can be good, life can be hard,
Life can be all on a black jack card,
Put your dollar down,
Put your dollar down,
Come on buddy, come and put your dollar down.

Life can be bitter, life can be nice,
Easy ten on a pair of dice,
Put your dollar down,
Put your dollar down,
Come on buddy, come and put your dollar down.

I bet you, you bet me,
Cherry don’t grow on a live oak tree,
Put your dollar down,
Put your dollar down,
Come on buddy, come and put your dollar down.

__________

These words came to me while I was asleep. In my dream I was picking guitar (which I can’t) and singing (which I can’t) like Mississippi John Hurt (which I’m not)! So someone else had better pick and sing for me. Words by MM, image by Robert Crumb, tune by you.

Crumb Hurt 2

