117

by kvennarad

O settlement! What do we mean when

we say ‘love’? The least kills the greatest

with ease, one stone does it. What do we

:

mean when we talk about distance? The

flames kindled, the figures leap and dance,

but only in the corner of your eye when

:

your gaze isn’t towards that stone wall.

What do we mean by self? Shift, and shift

again. What air comes between ‘me’ and

:

‘you’, and how is it charged? There is an

urgency in morning runners, but if they’re

not running to or from they might as well

:

mark time. Why is there more conversation

between late-autumn trees and those of full

summer? “Last night I saw a street full of

:

people, faces down but illuminated.” Why

do you push? O vitality! Why make such

an apostrophe, when there are children

:

dying? A career, even that of the Jagannath

cart, has an inevitable end. Why go to the

ends of the earth seeking a whole number?

__________

jupiterThere are still some copies left of my T.S. Eliot Prize-nominated poetry collection I am not a fish, direct from the publisher, though I suspect that they might not keep it in stock for much longer. So now would be a good time to buy a copy. How I hate running a commercial here!

Please visit and read Daniel Paul Marshall’s response to my short article on difficult poetry.

